Atty. Dominador (Jimmy) D. Buhain is the Chairman and President of the REX Group of Companies which is one of the leading companies in the country relating to book industry. REX Book Store, Inc. (one of its member-companies) has published around 6,000 titles from pre-elementary to post collegiate levels, inclusive of coffeetable books, legal and other publications. Todate, it now boasts of 25 branches all over the country.

He has likewise authored several publications and one of which is the History of Publishing in the Philippines.

Atty. Buhain is the President Emeritus of the Philippine Educational Publishers Association (PEPA), an organization composed of the leading textbook publishers in the Philippines. PEPA, through his leadership led the fight to break the government monopoly of the publication and supply of elementary and secondary textbooks and non-textbooks to the public schools which led to the legislation of several policies related to the industry, one of which is the Book Publishing Industry Development Act or Republic Act No. 8047 – an act providing for the development of the book publishing industry through the formulation and implementation of a National Book Policy and a National Book Development Plan.

He was the President of the ASEAN Book Publishers Association (ABPA) from 2007 to 2009, President of the Asia Pacific Publishers Association (APPA) from 2010-2012 and thereafter, he has been designated as APPA’s Chief Honorary President. APPA is an organization of national book associations of 16 countries in the Asia Pacific Region.

Presently, he is also the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of La Consolacion College, Manila and Biñan; President of the Philippine Reproduction Rights Organization (PRRO); President of the Philippine Book Development Federation, Inc. (PHILBOOK); and President of the Philippine Printing Technical Foundation (PPTF).

Recently, he has reserved two significant awards from San Beda College: the Icon of Entrepreneurship Award which was given by the San Beda College Graduate School and the highest award he considers to have been conferred on him is the Hall of Fame Award on Educational Publishing Service.